Office of the Dean

The Dean’s Office is the administrative wing of the Faculty of Arts.  The Dean has responsibility for overall administration of the Faculty, provides strategic leadership, ensures productive relationships with other Faculties, government, public, and professional constituencies, promotes excellence in teaching, research, and scholarly contributions throughout the Faculty, supports unit heads in attracting and retaining outstanding faculty and staff, and plays a leadership role in the University’s fundraising campaign.

Members of the core leadership team in the Dean’s Office support the work of the Dean and share in the administration of the Faculty, overseeing Faculty-level committees, representing the Faculty of Arts on University-wide committees, and providing advice and support to heads, directors, and chairs.

Dean Gage Averill
Senior Associate Dean, Academic Janet Giltrow
Associate Dean, Communications and Strategy Mary Lynn Young
Associate Dean, Faculty and Equity Geraldine Pratt
Associate Dean, Research and Graduate Studies Michael Richards
Associate Dean, Student Success Sunaina Assanand
Assistant Dean, Development and Alumni Engagement Victoria Auston
Assistant Dean, Facilities and Human Resources Gerald Vanderwoude
Assistant Dean, Finance Brian Lee

Click here for the Dean’s Office Directory

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Faculty of Arts
Buchanan A240
1866 Main Mall,
Vancouver, BC, V6T 1Z1, Canada

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC  | © Copyright The University of British Columbia