2017-18 Committees

Standing Committees 2017/18


Curriculum Committee

  • Chair: Christina Hendricks, Philosophy / Arts One Program
  • Stefania Burk, Asian Studies, Associate Dean Academic ex officio
  • Tom Scholte, Theatre and Film (until December 31, 2017)
  • Silvia Bartolic, Sociology
  • Katherine Bowers, Central, Eastern and Northern European Studies
  • Christine D’Onofrio, Art History, Visual Art and Theory
  • Nisha Malhotra, Economics
  • Library: Keith Bunnell ex officio 
  • Arts Advising: Nancy Campbell ex officio 
  • Arts Curriculum (Administrative): Lois Nightingale ex officio
  • Arts Curriculum  (Curriculum Development): Heidi May ex officio

Dean’s Advisory Committee on Promotion and Tenure

  • Chair: Gage Averill, Dean of Arts
  • Recording Secretary: Kathryn Harrison, Senior Associate Dean, Faculty and Equity
  • Laurel Brinton, English (appointed)
  • Franco De Angelis, Classical, Near Eastern, and Religious Studies (elected)
  • Alexander Fisher, School of Music (elected)
  • Robert Gardiner, Theatre and Film (elected)
  • Carla Hudson Kam, Linguistics (appointed)
  • Becki Ross, Sociology / Institute for Gender, Race, Sexuality, and Social Justice (appointed)
  • Ori Simchen, Philosophy (elected)
  • Jessica Tracy, Psychology (appointed)

Interdisciplinary Program Chairs

African Studies Minor | Chair: Rose-Marie Déchaine, Linguistics

Asian Canadian and Asian Migration Studies Minor (ACAM) | Chair: Christopher Lee, English

Bachelor of Media Studies (BMS) | Chair: Candis Callison, Journalism

Canadian Studies Program | Chair: André Lamontagne, French, Hispanic, & Italian Studies

Children’s Literature (MA) Program | Chair: Eric Meyers, School of Library, Archival, & Information Studies

Cognitive Systems Program | Chair: Christopher Mole, Philosophy

Environment & Society Minor | Chair: David Tindall, Sociology

Health & Society Minor | Chair: Mark Lam, Psychology

Interdisciplinary Studies BA | Chair: Michael O’Hagan, French, Hispanic, & Italian Studies

International Relations Program | Chair: Steven Lee, History

Law & Society Program | Chair: Arlene Sindelar, History

Medieval Studies Program | Chair: Robert Rouse, English

Religion, Literature, and the Arts | Chair: Anne Murphy, Asian Studies

Science & Technology Studies Program | Chair: Adam Frank, English

Sciences Po Dual Degree Program | Co-chairs: Stefania Burk, Associate Dean, Academic; Janet Giltrow, English


Representatives to Faculty Council Meetings

2017-18 Graduate Council Representatives

  • Dina Al-Kassim, English / Institute for Gender, Race, Sexuality, and Social Justice
  • Elizabeth Hirsh, Sociology
  • Matthew Evenden, Geography, and Associate Dean, Research and Graduate Studies

Faculty Representatives from the Faculty of Arts to Other Faculties

  • Applied Science: Nora Angeles, School for Community & Regional Planning / Institute for Gender, Race, Sexuality, and Social Justice
  • Dentistry: Susan Rowley, Anthropology
  • Education: Bryan Gick, Linguistics
  • Forestry: Greg Henry, Geography
  • Land and Food Systems: [tbc]
  • Medicine: Liisa Galea, Psychology
  • Pharmaceutical Sciences: Catharine Winstanley, Psychology
  • Science (2): Ian McKendry, Geography; Steven Barnes, Psychology

Faculty Representatives from Other Faculties to the Faculty of Arts

  • Applied Science: Carol Jaeger
  • Dentistry: David MacDonald
  • Education: Theresa Rogers
  • Forestry: Lori Daniels
  • Land and Food Systems: Jim Vercammen
  • Medicine: Sarah de Leeuw
  • Pharmaceutical Sciences: [tbc]
  • Science: Liane Chen (Botany); Dan Bizzotto (Chemistry); George Tsiknis (Computer Science); Roger Beckie (Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences); Mark MacLean (Mathematics); Jennifer Sibley (Microbiology and Immunology); Jeremy Heyl (Physics and Astronomy); Martin Adamson (Zoology)

2017-18 Elected Student Representatives

  • Bianca Man Yan Chui (first year)
  • Priyam Manoj Joshi (first year)
  • Mathew Yiu Chung Ho (second year)
  • Xi Yuan (Cecilia) Pang (second year)
  • Jordyn Nicole Rochwerg (3rd year, Theatre and Film)
  • Yixuan (Chelsea) Yao (3rd year, Linguistics)
  • David Roy How (4th year, Sociology)
  • Ian Stone (4th year, Political Science)