2018-19 Committees

Standing Committees 2018/19


Curriculum Committee

  • Chair: Catherine Rawn, Psychology
  • Stefania Burk, Asian Studies, Associate Dean Academic ex officio
  • Silvia Bartolic, Sociology
  • Katherine Bowers, Central, Eastern and Northern European Studies
  • Christine D’Onofrio, Art History, Visual Art and Theory
  • Nisha Malhotra, Economics
  • Library: Keith Bunnell ex officio 
  • Arts Advising: Nancy Campbell ex officio 
  • Arts Curriculum  (Curriculum Development): Heidi May ex officio

Dean’s Advisory Committee on Promotion and Tenure

  • Chair: Gage Averill, Dean of Arts
  • Recording Secretary: Gillian Creese, Associate Dean, Faculty and Equity
  • Corey Hamm, Music (elected)
  • Trevor Barnes, Geography (appointed)
  • Peter Dauvergne, Political Science (appointed)
  • Robert Gardiner, Theatre and Film (elected)
  • Tina Loo, History (elected)
  • Pilar Riaño-Alcalá, Social Work / Institute for Gender, Race, Sexuality, and Social Justice (appointed)
  • Ori Simchen, Philosophy (elected)
  • Jessica Tracy, Psychology (appointed)

Interdisciplinary Program Chairs

African Studies Minor | Chair: Suzanne James, English Language and Literatures

Arts One and Coordinated Arts Program (CAP) | Chair: Tom Kemple, Sociology

Arts Studies in Research and Writing (ASRW) | Chair: Laurie McNeill, English Language and Literatures

Asian Canadian and Asian Migration Studies Minor (ACAM) | Chair: Christopher Lee, English Language and Literatures

Bachelor of Media Studies (BMS) | Chair: Richard Arias-Hernandez, School of Library, Archival, & Information Studies

Canadian Studies Program | Chair: Michel Ducharme, History

Children’s Literature (MA) Program | Chair: Richard Gooding, English Language and Literatures

Cognitive Systems Program | Chair: Christopher Mole, Philosophy

Environment & Society Minor | Chair: David Tindall, Sociology

First-Year Programs| Chair: Laurie McNeill, English Language and Literatures

Health & Society Minor | Chair: Mark Lam, Psychology

Interdisciplinary Studies BA | Chair: Michael O’Hagan, French, Hispanic, & Italian Studies

International Relations Program | Co-Chairs: Steven Lee, History and Lisa Sundstrom, Political Science

Latin American Studies Program | Co-Chairs: Kim Beauchesne and Brianne Orr-Alvarez

Law & Society Program | Chair: Renisa Mawani, Sociology

Medieval Studies Program | Co-Chairs: Courtney Booker, History and John Christopoulos, History

Religion, Literature, and the Arts | Co-Chairs: Robert Cousland, Classical, Near Eastern, & Religious Studies and Anne Murphy, Asian Studies

Science & Technology Studies Graduate Program | Co-Chairs: Robert Brain, History and [tbc]

Sciences Po Dual Degree Program | Chair: Stefania Burk, Associate Dean, Academic


Representatives to Faculty Council Meetings

2018-19 Graduate Council Representatives

  • Dina Al-Kassim, English / Institute for Gender, Race, Sexuality, and Social Justice
  • Elizabeth Hirsh, Sociology
  • Matthew Evenden, Geography, and Associate Dean, Research and Graduate Studies

2018-19 Faculty Representatives from the Faculty of Arts to Other Faculties

  • Dentistry: TBD, Anthropology
  • Education: Strang Burton, Linguistics
  • Forestry: Greg Henry, Geography
  • Medicine: Liisa Galea, Psychology
  • Pharmaceutical Sciences: Catharine Winstanley, Psychology
  • Science (2): Nina Hewitt, Geography; Steven Barnes, Psychology

2018-19 Faculty Representatives from Other Faculties to the Faculty of Arts

  • Applied Science: Carol Jaeger
  • Dentistry: David MacDonald
  • Education: Sandrine Han
  • Forestry: Lori Daniels
  • Land and Food Systems: Jim Vercammen
  • Medicine: Sarah de Leeuw
  • Pharmaceutical Sciences: Annalijn Conklin
  • Science: Liane Chen

2018-19 Elected Student Representatives

  • Katherine Aquino (AUS President)
  • Justin Zheng (AUS VP Academic)
  • Daniel Miquel (AUS 1st Year)
  • Noah Mossey (AUS 2nd Year)
  • Mathew Ho (AUS 3rd Year)
  • Shagun Chheda (non-AUS)
  • TBD (GSS)
  • TBD (GSS)