Psychology (Research Associate, non-tenure track)

The Department of Psychology at the University of British Columbia invites applications for the position of a Research Associate. Required qualifications are a PhD in a relevant discipline (Psychology, Neuroscience, or Biology) and a strong record of research productivity in the area of behavioural neuroscience. The successful candidate will take a lead role in a study of steroids and reward-related brain circuits and will be expected to contribute to developing an innovative program of neurobehavioral research using novel technology. Expertise in mass spectrometry, rodent operant conditioning, and brain microdissection is, therefore, desirable. Postdoctoral experience is also highly desirable, as is expertise in immunohistochemistry and miscroscopy. The successful candidate will have a demonstrated excellence in supervision of undergraduate and graduate students and will be expected to participate fully in the supervision of graduate and undergraduate trainees. They will also be required to work as part of a multidisciplinary team and interact effectively with collaborators from other departments.

Salary will be commensurate with qualifications and experience.

Applications should be directed to Dr. Kiran Soma ( List documents to be submitted: CV; contact information of 3 references. Closing date for all applications is 04/15/2020. For further information about the UBC Department of Psychology, please visit:

Equity and diversity are essential to academic excellence. An open and diverse community fosters the inclusion of voices that have been underrepresented or discouraged. We encourage applications from members of groups that have been marginalized on any grounds enumerated under the B.C. Human Rights Code, including sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, racialization, disability, political belief, religion, marital or family status, age, and/or status as a First Nation, Metis, Inuit, or Indigenous person.

Canadians and permanent residents of Canada will be given priority.