UBC Symphony Orchestra: HOLST PLANETS – Noon Concert


Find out why everyone is buzzing about the UBC Symphony Orchestra at this FREE noon hour concert!
Holst Planets features a multimedia presentation and discussion by Jaymie Matthews & Michelle Kunimoto
“The Planets”, Op. 32, is a seven-movement orchestral suite by the English composer Gustav Holst, written between 1914 and 1916.
Each movement of the suite is named after a planet of the Solar System and its corresponding astrological character as defined by Holst.
With the exception of Earth, which is not observed in astrological practice, all the planets are represented.
The suite has seven movements, each named after a planet and its corresponding astrological character:
1. Mars, the Bringer of War (00:00 – 07:21)
2. Venus, the Bringer of Peace (07:22 – 15:59);
3. Mercury, the Winged Messenger (16:00 – 19:51);
4. Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity (19:52 – 27:49);
5. Saturn, the Bringer of Old Age (27:50 – 36:31);
6. Uranus, the Magician (36:32 – 42:14)
7. Neptune, the Mystic (42:15 – 49:01).
UBC Symphony Orchestra
Led by Maestro Jonathan Girard, the UBC Symphony Orchestra educates and promotes gifted young musicians while preparing them for international careers.
The UBC Symphony Orchestra (UBCSO) is a 110-member orchestra that performs symphonic works from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries, giving several concerts during the year, both on and off campus, often featuring soloists. The Orchestra also performs with UBC Opera, and in a annual choral work performance with the University Singers and UBC Choral Union.
12:00 noon, UBC Chan Centre for the Performing Arts
For more information, contact music.concerts@ubc.ca or 604-822-5574.