VSO with Kazuyoshi Akiyama and Makuyo Kamio

Vancouver Symphony Orchestra

FRI MAY 17 2019 8PM
Chan Shun Concert Hall
SAT MAY 18 2019 8PM
Chan Shun Concert Hall

Presented by the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra as part of the Classical Traditions series at the Chan Centre

Kazuyoshi Akiyama conductor
Mayuko Kamio violin

RESPIGHI Ancient Airs & Dances: Suite No. 3

BACH Violin Concerto No. 2 in E Major

MOZART Violin Concerto No. 3 in G Major, Strasbourg

MENDELSSOHN Symphony No. 4 in A Major, Italian

Beloved VSO Conductor Laureate Kazuyoshi Akiyama—one of the VSO’s most important Music Directors—conducts this historic program, with pieces selected from his very first concerts as Music Director in 1972. Praised worldwide for her luxurious, silken tone and virtuosic technique, Mayuko Kamio and her 1727 Stradivarius violin are the perfect match for Mozart’s enchanting Violin Concerto No. 3.

More information here.