UBC Arts brings together diverse members of the faculty in committees to advance a wide variety of initiatives, including the Curriculum Committee and the Dean’s Advisory Committee on Promotion and Tenure.

Curriculum Committee

Voting Members

  • Hedy Law, Chair, Music
  • Stefania Burk, Asian Studies, Associate Dean Academic ex officio
  • Gerald Baier, Political Science
  • Chelsea Freeborn, Sociology
  • Juliet O’Brien, French, Hispanic and Italian Studies
  • Patrick Rizzotti, Theatre and Film

Non-Voting Members

  • Heidi May, Arts Curriculum Development ex officio
  • Madeline Stephens, Arts Advising & Academic Systems ex officio
  • Janey Lew, Indigenous Initiatives CTLT ex officio

Consultation requests from other faculties can be sent to

Dean’s Advisory Committee on Promotion and Tenure

  • Janice Stewart, Associate Dean Faculty; Professor of Teaching, Institute for Gender, Race, Sexuality, and Social Justice
  • Lisa Cooper, Professor, Department of Ancient, Mediterranean, and Near Eastern Studies (elected; 2021-2023)
  • Kiley Hamlin, Professor, Department of Psychology (elected; 2021-2023)
  • Marwan Hassan, Professor, Department of Geography (appointed; 2022/2023)
  • Kirsty Johnston, Professor, Department of Theatre and Film (appointed; 2022/2023)
  • Thomas Kemple, Professor, Department of Sociology (appointed; 2022/2023)
  • Erik Kwakkel, Professor, School of Information (appointed; 2022/2023)
  • Tina Loo, Professor, Department of History (elected; 2022-2024)
  • Sandra Tomc, Professor, Department of English Language and Literatures (elected; 2022-2024)

Faculty Council Meeting Representatives

Faculty Representatives from the Faculty of Arts to Other Faculties

  • Education: Caroline Rieger
  • Forestry: Eagle Glassheim
  • Dentistry: Vinay Kamat
  • Science: Nina Hewitt
  • Medicine: Jason Snyder

Faculty Representatives from Other Faculties to the Faculty of Arts

  • Pharmaceutical Sciences: Annalijn Conklin
  • Medicine: Sarah de Leeuw
  • Education: Leah Macfadyen
  • Forestry: Agni Boedhihartono
  • Dentistry: Chris Overall
  • Science: Liane Chen
  • Land and Food Systems: James Vercammen

Lecturer Representatives

  • Suzanne James

Sessional Representatives

Elected Student Representatives

  • AUS President: Emma Martin-Rousselle
  • AUS VP Academic: Batul Saifee
  • 1st Year: Solomon Yi Kieran, Mehka Gnanendran
  • 2nd Year: Jaromir Sulja
  • 3rd Year: Sahithi Kuchi
  • 4th Year: Taylor Tucci
  • Non-AUS: Akshat Kumar

Graduate Council Representatives

  • Steph Daly
  • Eyobe Melketsadik

Policy, Governance, and Organization


  • Stefania Burk, Associate Dean, Academic
  • Christiane Hoppmann, Associate Dean, Research & Graduate Studies
  • Kamal Al-Solaylee, Professor, School of Journalism, Writing, and Media
  • Patricia Badir, Professor, Department of English Language and Literatures
  • Carla Hudson-Kam, Professor, Department of Linguistics
  • Alan Jacobs, Professor, Department of Political Science
  • Allison Macfarlane, Professor, School of Public Policy and Global Affairs
On this page