Heads, Directors & Chairs

View current Heads, Directors, and Chairs for all academic units and cultural venues within UBC Arts.


Department of Anthropology Alexia Bloch (Head)
Department of Art History, Visual Art and Theory Dana Claxton (Head)
Department of Asian Studies Ross King (Head)
Department of Central, Eastern, and Northern European Studies Geoffrey Winthrop-Young (Head)
Department of Classical, Near Eastern, and Religious Studies Leanne Bablitz (Head)
Department of English Language and Literatures Patricia Badir (Head)
Department of French, Hispanic, and Italian Studies Joël Castonguay-Bélanger (Head)
Department of Geography Geraldine Pratt (Head)
Department of History Eagle Glassheim (Head)
Department of Linguistics Bryan Gick (Head)
Department of Philosophy Matt Bedke (Head)
Department of Political Science Richard Price (Head)
Department of Psychology Geoffrey Hall (Head)
Department of Sociology Guy Stecklov (Head)
Department of Theatre and Film Stephen Heatley (Head)



Vancouver School of EconomicsPatrick Francois (Director)
UBC School of JournalismAlfred Hermida(Director)
iSchool: School of Library, Archival, and Information StudiesLuanne Freund(Director)
School of MusicT. Patrick Carrabré(Director)
School of Public Policy and Global AffairsMax Cameron (Director pro tem)
School of Social WorkDonna Baines (Director)



Institute Director
Institute for Gender, Race, Sexuality, and Social JusticeJanice Stewart (Acting Director)
Institute for Critical Indigenous StudiesDory Nason (Acting Director)



Program Chair
Creative Writing ProgramAlix Ohlin (Chair)
First-Year Programs & Interdisciplinary ProgramsLaurie McNeill (Chair)


Interdisciplinary Programs

Interdisciplinary Program Chair
African Studies Minor Suzanne James, English Language and Literatures (Chair)
Arts Studies in Research and WritingLaurie McNeill, English Language and Literatures (Chair)
Asian Canadian and Asian Migration Studies MinorChristopher Lee, English Language and Literatures (Chair)
Bachelor of Media Studies Christina D’Onofrio, Art History, Visual Art and Theory (Chair)
Canadian Studies ProgramMichel Ducharme, History (Chair)
Children’s Literature (MA) ProgramRichard Gooding, English Language and Literatures (Chair
Cognitive Systems ProgramChristopher Mole, Philosophy (Chair)
Environment and Society MinorDavid Tindall, Sociology (Chair)
Health and Society MinorMark Lam, Psychology (Chair)
Interdisciplinary StudiesClayton Ashton, Asian Studies (Chair)
International Relations ProgramJessica Wang, History and Lisa Sundstrom, Political Science (Co-Chairs)
Latin American Studies ProgramAlessandra Santos, French, Hispanic & Italian Studies (Chair)
Law and Society ProgramRenisa Mawani, Sociology (Chair)
Medieval Studies ProgramCourtney Booker, History and John Christopoulos, History (Co-Chairs)
Religion, Literature, and the ArtsSabina Magliocco, Anthropology (Chair)
Sciences Po Dual Degree ProgramTara Mayer, History (Chair)


Arts & Culture Venues

AHVA Gallery at the Audain CentreBarrie Jones (Acting Director)
Morris and Helen Belkin Art GalleryScott Watson (Director); Lorna Brown (Associate Director and Curator)
Museum of AnthropologyAnthony Shelton (Director)
Chan Centre for the Performing ArtsJoyce Hinton and Cameron McGill (Co-Managing Directors)


On this page
    Back to toparrow_upward